#### San Angelo Football Officials' Association Monday, October 31, 2016 Board Meeting Minutes – Draft

Board Members Present: Coy Gober, John Kellermeier, Thadd Martin, Bradley Petty, Dan Robertson, and Joe David West.

Board Members Absent: Charles Hudson and Eddie Long

Guests Present: Dr. Tony Dutton and Miller Walker

Mr. Gober called the meeting to order at 5:35 p.m. at the ASU Center for Human Performance, Conference Room.

The agenda was distributed and reviewed.

#### **New Business:**

#### **Standing Committees**

- Nominations Committee members are:
  - o Nick Negovetich
  - Aaron Kentner
  - o Wacey Cason
- The Nominations Committee reported the following candidates for office:
  - o Secretary
    - Bradley Petty
  - o Treasurer
    - Dan Robertson
  - o Director II
    - Aaron Kentner
    - Thadd Martin

#### **Financial Report**

• NA

#### **Play-off Roster**

• Mr. Petty reviewed the play-off roster with the Board. It was decided by the Board that first-year officials will not be eligible for play-off assignments. There are a total of 17 officials eligible for play-offs.

#### **Election Results**

- Secretary
  - o Bradley Petty (Voted in by acclamation)
- Treasurer

- o Dan Robertson (Voted in by acclamation)
- Director II
  - Aaron Kentner (19 out of 30 votes)
  - Thadd Martin (11 out of 30 votes)
- By-laws revisions (Passed 30 out of 30 votes)
- The new positions and by-laws will be effective January 1, 2017.

### Dr. Dutton Student Scholarship Applications Review

- Mr. Robertson presented four applications for review.
  - o Mr. Braden Cox
  - o Mr. Josh Hale
  - o Mr. Julian Helms
  - o Mr. Joshua Stephenson
- After review, the Board selected Mr. Josh Hale as the award recipient and Mr. Julian Helms as the runner-up. It was moved by Mr. West that the Board waive the 2017 local dues for both Mr. Hale and Mr. Helms. The motion was seconded by Mr. Martin. The motion passed unanimously.

## **Current Game Assignments**

- A. Foul Reports
- B. Incident Reports
- C. Scratches
  - 1. Grape Creek
    - a. Neil Dilts
    - b. Charles Hudson
- D. Coaches Evaluations from UIL
- E. Week 11 Finalize

## Members Update

- Prospects
  - o Micky Baker
  - o Ian Brown
  - o Neil Dilts
  - o Josh Hale
  - o Brock Heintzelman
  - o Word Hutson
  - o Clint Lesley
  - o Vance McIntosh
  - o Cody Slaughter
  - o Morris Smith
  - o Josh Stephenson
  - Clint Tucker (Removed from schedule due to two missed varsity games)
  - o Cory Walker
- Transfers
  - Lonnie Harris PV

- Tim Loveland Austin
- Billy Skinner PV

# **Additional Comments**

- The Nominations Committee reported the following candidates for office:
  - o Secretary
    - Bradley Petty
  - o Treasurer
    - Dan Robertson
  - o Director II
    - Aaron Kentner
    - Thadd Martin
  - The membership moved and seconded that Bradley Petty and Dan Robertson be voted in by acclamation.
  - o By-laws revisions
- Zebra-Ware sent an email to all chapters indicating that they sold all rights to the company to Arbiter. Therefore, the chapter will need to secure a new scheduling software after the current season. Investigation into a new company will be initiated.
- Elections Timeline
  - September 26, 2016 Nominating Committee Appointed by President
    - Secretary Bradley Petty (Incumbent)
    - Treasurer Dan Robertson (Incumbent)
    - Director II Thadd Martin (Incumbent)
  - **October 3, 2016** Deadline for suggestions of candidates to Nominating Committee; By-Laws revision proposals due
  - October 10, 2016 Begin collecting local dues; Nominating Committee reports nominations to the membership; Nominations taken from the floor; Proposed By-Laws announced
  - October 17, 2016 Speeches; Proposed By-Laws announced
  - October 24, 2016 Zebra-Ware voting begins Monday, October 24 at 7:30 p.m. through Sunday, October 30 at 6:00 p.m.; Dr. Dutton Student Scholarship applications due
  - October 31, 2016 Run-off vote
  - February 1, 2017 Last day to pay local dues to be play-off eligible for 2017
- Mr. Charles Hudson informed the Board that he will resign his position due to job relocation effective immediately. Mr. Gober appointed Mr. Thadd Martin to fill his remaining term for one year since he was the runner-up of the Director II position. Dr. Kellermeier seconded the appointment. The Board passed the appointment unanimously.

Mr. West moved to adjourn. Dr. Kellermeier seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Meeting was adjourned at 6:23 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Bradley Petty SAFOA Secretary